My granny passed / before the century changed


April 1

my granny passed

before the century changed 
she hung up on you 

when she was done talking
died in her eighties 

at the end of the nineties 
her name was corey,

a raisin in my memory 
but i remember that she made hats, 

a milliner for the church ladies
even in the bed where she died

she wore tights everyday
all the emphasis on goodchristianladyness

and i suspect a more complicated story
my first period came on her birthday

maybe she’s a witch like me 
they tell me she prayed constantly

maybe i’m a witch like her 
my mom would bring us

to change her soiled tights
hours at her house 

with a dog and a peach tree 
my young eyes threaded her sewing needles

and one time the ceiling collapsed
i remember my mom crying 

in the church parking lot 
when we found out she was gone 

better than i recall her funeral
i don’t know when she was born, 

approximately the year white women voted 
my mom still cries at church 

if they sing granny’s favorite hymns 
(what a friend we have in jesus…

carry everything to god with care)April 1

my granny passed

before the century changed 
she hung up on you 

when she was done talking
died in her eighties 

at the end of the nineties 
her name was corey,

a raisin in my memory 
but i remember that she made hats, 

a milliner for the church ladies
even in the bed where she died

she wore tights everyday
all the emphasis on goodchristianladyness

and i suspect a more complicated story
my first period came on her birthday

maybe she’s a witch like me 
they tell me she prayed constantly

maybe i’m a witch like her 
my mom would bring us

to change her soiled tights
hours at her house 

with a dog and a peach tree 
my young eyes threaded her sewing needles

and one time the ceiling collapsed
i remember my mom crying 

in the church parking lot 
when we found out she was gone 

better than i recall her funeral
i don’t know when she was born, 

approximately the year white women voted 
my mom still cries at church 

if they sing granny’s favorite hymns 
(what a friend we have in jesus…

carry everything to god with care)

Thoughts?

